Digi Choosday – Week 36 – Anything Goes

Morning, it’s Tuesday and the start of a new challenge at Digi Choosday

The theme is – Anything Goes.

For this weeks challenge the DT were asked to used autumnal colours, perfect for me as I love using a yellow, red & orange combo, you can probably tell if you take a look through my blog.

I’ve gone for a vintage style look, using an image transfer technique using Matte Medium, love my Matte Medium and I use it a lot, for various techniques.

 

 

Step by Step

1. Created the background on white card stock, using Imagination Crafts Mixed Media sprays in yellow, orange and red.

2. Gave the whole page a coat of DecoArt Matte Medium, once the paint was completely dry. Left to dry.

3. Printed the butterfly from the Polkadoodles Little Kingdom digi collection, I printed the image using a laser printer, I believe the image transfer technique can be done with an inkjet image but you need to be careful not to smudge the ink. I also printed the sentiment, again from Polkadoodles Little Kingdom digi collection, I did manipulate the sentiment in my graphics program to change the size. 

4. Gave the card stock another coat of Matte Medium, I deliberately didn’t take the Matte Medium to the edge, I wanted the area covered with Matted Medium to be slightly smaller than the printed image so I’d get a natural rough edge to the transfer.

5. Place the image face down on the Matte Medium and burnished the whole image. Normally you’d leave this to dry over night but I was impatience and wanted to see the results, I heat set the piece and then left to cool and flatten out for a couple of hours, under a heavy book.

6. Using a piece of damp sponge I rubbed away the paper to reveal the image transfer.

7. Trimmed the card stock and roughed up the edges using the Tim Holtz distressing tool. Rounded the corners using a corner punch and inked the edges with a dark brown ink pad.

8. Matted on to black card stock and rounded the corners using a corner punch.

9. Cut out the sentiment and adhered to the image. Used an orange Derwent Graphiks Paint Liner to edge the words.

10. Used a black Derwent Graphiks Paint Liner to add faux stitching around the edge.

 

Polkadoodles_Little_Kingdom_complete_collection.jpg

 

Don’t forget to grab today’s discount code over on the Digi Choosday blog. 

 

Digi_Choosday_Discount_Day.jpg

 

I’ll be entering the following challenges-

Crafting From The Heart #126 Anything Goes

Critters and Creatures Linky Party #7 

Craft Your Passion #328 Anything Goes

Thanks for stopping by 💋

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Digi Choosday – Week 36 – Anything Goes

  1. dsmiles2 says:

    Hi, Gail! What an incredible tutorial describing your beautiful artwork! Thank you for explaining in detail. I may need to invest in a laser printer. But I am going to experiment with my little inkjet and see how it goes. Thanks for explaining the techniques. LOVE your pretty masterpiece, definitely suitable for home decor as a reminder and encouragement. hugs, de

    Like

  2. Ellie says:

    What an amazing mixed media creation and love the gorgeous colors! So beautiful!
    Thanks so much for sharing!!

    xEllie
    Let’s Color Linky Party
    Critters & Creatures Linky Party

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

