Digi Choosday – Week 8 – The Colour Green and/or Nature

Morning all, how are we all doing? 

It’s Tuesday and that means time for the start of a new challenge at Digi Choosday. This weeks theme is ‘The Colour Green and/or Nature’, so plenty of scope for everyone’s stash and style.

I’m really enjoying using fabulous quotes and fonts in my makes so decided that would be route for this make, I perused by Polkadoodles stash and found a fab quote in the Picknix in The Garden collection. The Picknix In The Garden collection is available here, or for the best value there is a download bundle collection available here. The bundle collection has not only the In The Garden collection but also the All Sewn Up collection and the Homegrown collection too, the digital download bundle offers the best value but a CD-Rom is also available here. After deciding on the quote I was going to be using, I wanted to pick floral images to tie in with the quote and theme for the challenge, I found the fern in the Picknix in The Garden bundle too and knew straight way I wanted to do a silhouette style project.

 

Digi Choosday - Week 8 - Colour Green and/or Nature

 

I printed the quote and ferns onto a canvas effect matte photo paper, I used a graphics program to create the ferns in various sizes,  I simply coloured the ferns in with a black Copic marker and used a white gel pen to add dots & outline the ferns.Then it was time to get inky and messy with the acrylic spray inks in blue, green & yellow. Now I did intend printing the images out on my laser print but went into automatic mode and printed out on the inkjet printer, duh. I wasn’t sure if the inkjet printer ink would stand up to being sprayed with the acrylic inks but I gave it a try, I just made sure that I sprayed lightly and dried each colour before applying more spray ink. Thankfully, the spray inks didn’t make the printer ink bleed or run, well at least not on this paper anyway:) I defined the edges of the background and quote using a blue Memento ink pad and used a Copic Multi Liner to add faux stitching around the edges. I adhered the background onto a A5 card base and after matting the quote onto black card stock I adhered to the background using 3D foam tape. Finally, I added die cut butterflies to embellish.

There’s lot more inspiration and ideas from the Digi Choosday DT over on the blog and don’t forget the discount code for use at Polkadoodles, valid today only.

 

Digi_Choosday_Discount_Day.jpg

 

Thanks for stopping by and I look forward to seeing your makes over on the Digi Choosday challenge blog.

 

Digi_Choosday_Challenge.jpg

 

I’ll be entering the following challenges.

 

Craft Your Passion – Challenge #300 ATG

Love to Scrap – Challenge #72 ATG

Craftin’ Desert Divas – Linky Party Nature’s Wonders

Crafting From The Heart – Challenge #100 ATG

Tuesday Throwdown – Challenge #282 Create Your Own Background

 

11 thoughts on “Digi Choosday – Week 8 – The Colour Green and/or Nature

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

