Discover Your Passion – Indigo Blu

Discover Your Passion - Indigo Blu

 

Afternoon, hope you’re all well today!

I’ve been playing my acrylic inks again, I think I need to get some more colours πŸ™‚

These are the same inks I used for the Dream Art Journal page, you can see my blog post here, but as you can see the colours are much brighter for the Butterfly card above. I used a different mix of acrylic ink to water for this project, the ability to mix up the sprays as I want is going to be so useful πŸ™‚

I started my spraying the background with the acrylic inks, whilst the ink was drying I created several masks for the butterfly stamp. I then started stamping the butterfly in Black Archival Ink, from an Indigo Blu stamp set, masking the stamped butterflies as I went. I stamped the sentiment using Black Archival Ink, highlighting some areas of the text with a white pen. I intensified the colour of some of he butterflies, painting them with the neat acrylic inks. I emphasized the sentiment by dotting around it with white markers, various nib widths, and adding some glossy accents sprinkled with clear glitter (although the sparkle isn’t showing up much in the photo!). I also added a border to the project using a white pen, before adding the decoupage butterflies for some added dimension. The decoupage butterflies were stamped onto a piece of card that I’d already covered with the acrylic ink sprays. Finally matting onto black cardstock.

Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

 

I’ll be entering this in the 

 

Indigo Blu Challenge #35

Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #20

MMMC_20.jpg

 

Anything But Cute Challenge #9

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Discover Your Passion – Indigo Blu

  1. Anne R says:

    Oh what a wonderful way to use the gorgeous Indigo Blu butterfly! The background colours are fabulous and your masking is superb, it gives wonderful dimension to the butterflies.

    Thanks so much for joining in our ‘Ring out the Old, Bring in the New’ challenge at Anything But Cute. I wonder though, did you use a ‘new’ product? Perhaps you could let us know as it is a requirement for the challenge…. Hugs, Anne DT xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Samra says:

    Thank you so much for joining our Ring Out the Old, Bring in the New challenge at Anything But Cute! What was the new item that you used for your project??
    Hugs

    Samra DT

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

