Dream, Dream …. Art Journal

Morning, well it’s freezing cold here in the North West of England, we even had snow this weekend something we’ve not had for while!

I’ve been quiet with the blog recently because I’ve having trouble with my migraines again! The migraine auras make it difficult to craft, think my migraines have started up because I’m having really trouble sleeping. I created this page with no clear plan when I started but looking at the outcome, it looks like the lack of sleep is definitely on my mind more than I thought!!!!

 

Dream, Dream ... Art Journal

 

I started the page by creating a background with acrylic inks, I used Magic Color acrylic inks diluted with water in a mini mister. The inks were a Xmas pressies from hubby and it’s the first chance I’ve had to play with them. I am really impressed with them so far, lots of different ways to use them, I’m going have lots of fun experimenting with 🙂

I used various rubber stamps (Indigo Blu) and stencils (Imagination Crafts & Tim Holtz), with Archival Ink in various colours, on the background. For the text I used texture paste and an Andy Skinner template. I used acrylic ink sprays on a book page and die cut circles from the page, then used Archival Inks through a stencil. I created a background, with acrylic spray inks again, and stamped the butterflies and text and them cut them out, the butterflies are from Indigo Blu stamp sets and the text is from a Dylusions clear stamp set.

I glued the die cut circles and emphases them with a black Sakura Micron pen. I stamped the girl (Hope) in black Archival Ink, the stamps from the Inspired by Banksy range from Bee Crafty. I glued the butterflies and text using Art Deco Matte Medium, I also applied a layer of Matte Medium over the Dream text. Finally I added colour to the text using Faber Castell Big Brush Pitt pens and highlighted around the butterflies, text and circles using the FC Big Brush pens.

I really didn’t have a plan when I started the page but my subconscious definitely seems to be stuck on the lack of sleep and dreams, what do you think??

Thanks for stopping by.

 

I’ll be entering this into the following challenges

The Mixed Media Monthly Challenge #20 Time Flies

  

Anything But Cute Challenge #9 Ring out the Old, Bring in the New

World Wide Open Design Team Challenge Blog #7 

We Love 2 Create #2 Anything Goes

11 thoughts on “Dream, Dream …. Art Journal

  1. Annette says:

    This is so dreamy and gorgeous. You have most certainly worked your magic with your Inks.
    Great work.
    Thank you for entering the World Wide Open DT Challenge and best of luck with your entry.
    Annette DT Leader

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne R says:

    Well, you really turned a negative into a positive by creating this beautiful page in those wonderful muted tones, it has such a wonderful dreamy quality to it! I hope your sleeping patterns have improved since you created it too.

    Thanks so much for joining in our Ring out the Old, Bring in the New challenge at Anything But Cute! Anne DT xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pamellia says:

    Wow, this is so beautiful!! I can’t think of a better sentiment for this than ‘dream’ because this page is freaking dreamy!! I just love the soft tones and that trail of butterflies just captivates me!! Great job with your new inks, what a lovely pressie from hubby!

    Thank you so much for joining us at Anything But Cute for our ‘Bring in the New’ challenge! Hugs, Pamellia DT 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Andrea Beecroft says:

    Wow what a gorgeous project I do love your soft colours. Thank you for sharing it with us over at The World Wild Open Design Team Challenge. Good luck with your entry. Hugs Andrea DT

    Like

  5. Cec says:

    Love this page with all the different stamps and stencils. The colours are terrific and the mediums you used are fabulous. Thanks for joining us at Anything But Cute.
    Hugs!
    Cec

    Like

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

