Pan Pastels Art Journal

 

Afternoon, another post! Two in one day, I’m being very bad should really be getting organised for Xmas but crafting is soooo much more fun than braving the shops at this time of the year. I’ll get my behind in gear tomorrow for the Xmas prep, I will, I will, I will!!!!

If you’ve been reading my blog recently you’ll have noticed, I’ve discovered the joys of art journals so I’ve been experimenting with Pan Pastels today.

I recently purchased some of the Pan Pastels in suitable shades for flesh tones so this is my first attempt at colouring skin with Pan Pastels!! I think I could have been a bit braver with the shading but at least I got the Pan Pastels out and tried, got to practice or I won’t improve. Also really pleased with the new fixative I’ve used, it’s called SpectraFix. I’m not a fan of most aerosol fixatives because they tend to smell and something about them seems to trigger my migraines but SpectraFix is not in a pressurised aerosol, it’s a pump action spray, no odour, well nothing I can smell, and is a natural milk casein fixative. I can spray inside and touch wood I’ve been fine 🙂

I started by stamping the focal image, Blossom Beauty from Stampendous, in Jet Black Archival Ink then coloured the background with a couple of Pan Pastel colours using Sofft sponges. I then started colouring Blossom Beauty, all coloured with various Pan Pastels and Sofft knives , I need to get some of the small applicators, think it would be a little easier for me to colour small areas. I sealed the Pan Pastels with the Spectrafix, allowed to dry (only takes a couple of minutes) and then used various stamps, from Indigo Blu, Tim Holtz and Dylusions, to create interest in the background, using Archival inks in various colours. I used the Graph’it White Shaker pen to add dots to the flowers and the Dylusion stamped images.

Thanks for stopping by and enjoy the rest of day 🙂

I’ll be entering this into the 

Love To Create challenge #25

 

 

3 thoughts on “Pan Pastels Art Journal

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

