Indigo Blu – Beauty Everywhere

Well, it’s not the best weather here in Lancashire, no surprises there then lol. It’s cold, grey and dull here so I decided to make something bright and warm, I got out my Faber Castell Gelatos and some of Indigo Blu stamps to make another page for my art journal.

 

Indigo Blu - Beauty Everywhere, mixed media, rubber stamping, FC Gelatos, art journal

 

I’ve prepped a few A5 pages with gesso and used various stencils along with some texture paste so I’ve some ready to go without waiting for the texture paste to dry. 

I used one of these pages, which had a honeycomb texture on it and used FC gelatos in yellows and oranges to colour the background.

Sealing the Gelatos using ArtDeco Matte Medium, using a sponge to pounce the Matte Medium on – using a brush with the Matte Medium over the Gelatos would smear the Gelatos and this is not the effect I wanted on this page but it can make interesting backgrounds and I do use a brush sometimes. 

Once the Matte Medium was dry, I stamped various images, mainly from the Indigo Blu stamp range and a texture stamp from Hobby Art stamps, using Versafine ink pads. I heat set the Versafine ink and then sealed with Matte Medium again. 

I stamped a butterfly, also from Indigo Blu, onto a vellum using Versamark and heat embossed using black embossing powder. 

Used one of the dies from the Tim Holtz Mixed Media die set on the page, added a couple of hexagon die cuts around the text, paper flowers and buttons to embellish the page. Trimmed the A5 page down just a little to matt on black cardstock and finally adhered the vellum butterfly. I will confess the vellum butterfly was added to cover something I didn’t like but who hasn’t done this!!!

Enjoy day whatever your up to and thanks for popping by 🙂

I’ll be entering the following challenges

Daring Cardmakers challenge – Something Stencilled

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Indigo Blu – Beauty Everywhere

Thank you for taking the time to comment, it's much appreciated. I read them all and I love hearing from everyone :)

